Lost Title Surety Bond
The State of Missouri has required the obtainment of the Lost Title Surety Bond for any vehicle owner who has lost the original title for the vehicle or did not receive adequate proof of ownership. The required bond amount is equal to two times the value of the vehicle. The value of the vehicle is determined by the Kelly Blue Book, NADA Used Car guide or two appraisals from a licensed motor vehicle dealer. The bond will have a minimum amount of $100. This bond protects the state from you in case someone claims the vehicle. The bond will last for three years. After three years, the bond will expire and the department will give proper title documents to vehicle. This bond may not be needed if the vehicle is more than 7 years old or if the vehicle is valued at $3,000 or less.
The bond is needed to indemnify any prior owner who owns the certificate of title to the vehicle. This protects the department from the loss of vehicle, and any damage caused. The bond also protects the next buyer of the vehicle from fraudulent duplicate of title.
The surety company will payout if you are found at fault for a claim on your bond. These bonds are freely written and do not require a credit check. A quote can be obtained by completing the online application.
Link to Missouri Revised Statutes Pertaining to Lost Title Surety Bond: